2020 WA Police Excellence Awards Nominees Announced

Published on

Police Officers standing in front of police car.

After considering more than 164 examples of exceptional police work, the judging panel has completed the difficult task of selecting the top ten for each award category for this year’s Nine News WA Police Excellence Awards.

These deserving finalists represent the outstanding work being done by WA Police Force officers all over the State, and we congratulate everyone who received a nomination for this year’s Awards.

Individual category

  • Senior Sergeant Dean Bailey, Halls Creek Police Station, Kimberley District  
  • Sergeant Brian Beck, In Service Training Unit, Police Academy
  • Sergeant Gary Benzies, Mandurah District Office, Mandurah District
  • Sergeant Wayne Godwin, Perth Police Station, Perth District
  • First Class Constable Joe Ireson, Northern Regional Operations Group, State Operations Division
  • Senior Constable Sam Lim, Community and Coordination, Community Engagement Division
  • Sergeant Heidi Melia, Narrogin Police Station, Great Southern District
  • Detective Senior Constable Poppy Miller, Midland Detectives, Midland Detectives
  • Brevet. Senior Sergeant Revis Ryder, Warakurna Multi-Functional Policing Facility, Goldfields-Esperance District
  • First Class Constable Brian Shedden, East Pilbara District Forensic Investigations Office, Pilbara District

Team category

  • Cannington Family Violence Unit, Cannington District
  • Cockburn Police Station, Fremantle District
  • Esperance Police Station, Goldfields-Esperance District  
  • Gang Crime, Serious and Organised Crime Division
  • Halls Creek Police Station, Kimberley District
  • Hillarys Police Station, Joondalup District
  • Regional Investigations Unit, State Operations Division
  • South Hedland Police Station, Pilbara District
  • Tambellup Police Station, Great Southern District
  • Water Police, Counter Terrorism and Emergency Response
Congratulations to all of the nominees!