2021 Nine News Police Excellence Awards Top Ten Finalists

Published on

Police Excellence Awards

WA Police Force officers have played a vital role in keeping the community of Western Australia safe. Even when faced with the additional challenges presented by COVID-19, their dedication, courage and commitment to their duty and the community has been unwavering. 

This year the judges received 147 unique quality nominations of which 68 were in the individual category and 79 in the team category. These nominations were received from across the state and are testament of the great connection our officers enjoy with Western Australians.

Congratulations to everyone who received a nomination! 


  • Detective Senior Constable Lesley Berecz – Sex Assault Squad 
  • Brevet Sergeant Jesse Bill – Warmun MFPF
  • Sergeant Andy Galbraith – Merredin Police Station
  • Senior Constable Amanda Krarup – Mundijong Police Station
  • Detective Senior Sergeant Joe Marrapodi – Special Crime Squad (Homicide)
  • A/Sergeant Chris Patten – Traffic Enforcement Group North
  • First Class Constable Luke Ratana – Fremantle Police Station
  • Sergeant Gary Simpson – Coolgardie Police Station
  • Senior Constable Nathan Smith – Broome Police Station
  • Senior Constable Michelle Widmer – Bunbury Police Station


  • Armadale Family Violence Team – Armadale District
  • Child Abuse Squad – Armadale MIST – Sex Crime Division
  • Cockburn Police Station – Fremantle District
  • Coolgardie Police Station – Goldfields-Esperance District
  • Digital Policing Division – Office of the CIO
  • Drug and Firearm Squad – Serious and Organised Crime Division
  • Fitzroy Crossing Police Station – Kimberley District
  • Merredin Police Station – Wheatbelt District
  • Northampton Police Station – Mid West-Gascoyne District
  • Perenjori Police Station – Mid West-Gascoyne District
The second phase of the judging process will commence shortly with three finalists in each category being selected to attend the Awards Breakfast on December 9 at Optus Stadium. 

Finalists will be announced in October.

The Nine News WA Police Excellence Awards could not exist without the support of our generous sponsors, Nine Perth, P&N Bank, WAtoday and 6PR.