Finalists Announced

Published on

Nine News Police Excellence Awards logo

Figure Image

With 175 quality nominations received this year, our judges certainly had a difficult task set for them in determining this year's finalists.

The chosen finalists from each category (in alphabetical order) are:

Individual category

  • Senior Sergeant Darryl Brandis – Mundijong Police Station, Armadale District
  • Senior Constable Ben Ferris – Merredin Police Station, Wheatbelt District
  • First Class Constable Nathan Smith – Broome Police Station, Kimberley District

Team category

  • Kellerberrin Police Station – Wheatbelt District
  • Mental Health Co-Response – Custodial Services and Mental Health Division
  • Mullewa Police Station – Mid-West Gascoyne District

The winners will be announced at a breakfast awards ceremony at Crown Perth on Thursday 6 December.

Congratulations to the following individuals and teams (listed alphabetically) who were shortlisted in the top 10 nominees in their category:

Individual Category:

  • Senior Constable Karen Crealy, Wanneroo Police Station, Joondalup District
  • Sergeant Jason Gentili, Kimberley Family Violence Unit, Kimberley District
  • Detective Senior Constable Sean Haines, formally Child Abuse Squad, Sex Crime Division
  • Detective Senior Constable Nicholas Jessop, formerly Kensington Detectives, Cannington District
  • Detective Senior Constable Andrew Thompson, Karratha Detectives, Pilbara District
  • Sergeant Angela Tipping, formerly Perth Police Station, Perth District
  • Senior Constable Rhett Wilkinson, State Intelligence and Command Portfolio

Team Category:

  • Bayswater Police Station, Mirrabooka District
  • Fitzroy Crossing Police Station, Kimberley District
  • Laverton Police Station, Goldfields-Esperance District
  • Marble Bar Police Station, Pilbara District
  • Midland Detectives, Midland District
  • Newman Police Station, Pilbara District
  • Waroona Police Station, South West District

Thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate a police officer or police team for this year’s awards.

The WA Police Force thanks this year’s sponsors Nine Perth, Crown Perth, P&N Bank and 882 6PR.