2019 WA Police Excellence Awards Nominees Announced

Published on

Police Officers standing in front of police car.

More than 100 outstanding Police Officers have been nominated for this year’s Nine News Western Australia Police Excellence Awards.

Members from the Western Australian community have put forward 136 cases of exemplary police work and interactions, describing efforts that have gone above and beyond the line of duty.

Embodying our core values of care, duty, integrity, and teamwork, the nominated officers have better connected us with you – the people we serve – throughout the year and across the state.


Our judging panel has announced an impressive shortlist from which three finalists in each category will soon be revealed – follow us on the WA Police Force Facebook page to stay on top of the action.

Category: Individual Police Officer

Name Unit District/Division
Sergeant Dean Bailey
Halls Creek Police Station
First Class Constable Amanda Bunschoten Midland Family Violence Team Midland
Constable Chris Byrne  Coolgardie Police Station  Goldfields - Esperance 
Detective First Class Constable Karen Connelly  Child Abuse Squad  Sex Crime Division 
Sergeant Shelley Marklew  South Hedland Police Station – Community Engagement Team Pilbara
Senior Constable Em Morrison Newman Police Station  Pilbara 
Senior Constable Deslea Sloan  Major Crash Investigation  State Traffic 
Senior Sergeant Danial Strachan  Fitzroy Crossing Police Station  Kimberley 
Senior Sergeant Justin Tarasinski  Esperance Police Station  Goldfields - Esperance District 
First Class Constable Brenton Uphill  Mid West-Gascoyne Youth Policing  Mid West - Gascoyne District 


Category: Police Team

Team District/Division
Bruce Rock Police Station
Carnarvon Police Station - Mid West-Gascoyne Youth Policing  Mid West - Gascoyne 
Derby Police Station  Kimberley
Dignitary Protection Unit  Counter Terrorism and Emergency Response 
Joondalup Detectives Office  Joondalup
Midland Family Violence Team  Midland
Rockingham Police Station  Mandurah 
South Hedland Police Station – Community Engagement Team  Pilbara 
Taskforce Newstead  Organised Crime 
Three Springs Police Station  Mid West - Gascoyne 


Congratulations to all of the nominees!

You could be one of next year’s winners – find out how to join the WA Police Force