Nine News WA Police Excellence Awards

Winners of the Nine News WA Police Excellence Awards were presented this morning in front of 110 guests at a breakfast event at Optus Stadium.

Commissioner Col Blanch said that it gave him great pleasure to be celebrating the commitment and dedication of the WA Police Force through the presentation of these awards. 

“There were 96 quality nominations received and every submission told a compelling story of exceptional service, care and duty. The nominations demonstrated the many and varied ways WA Police Force officers go above and beyond to serve, protect and engage with the community” Commissioner Blanch said.

The Nine News WA Police Excellence Awards recognise and acknowledge police officers who individually, or as a team, demonstrate excellence in their service to the people and State of Western Australia.

The winner of the individual category is Sergeant Trisha STJEPIC, Belmont Police Station, Cannington District.

Sergeant Stjepic received multiple nominations for her outstanding commitment to leadership, operational demands and cultivating a strong community safety focus. Considered a role model by her team, she attends work every day with a passion and commitment to providing the best policing for the WA community.

Finalists in the individual category were Constable Reece Josemans (Harvey Police Station, South West District) and Sergeant James McLaren (Armadale Family Violence Team, Armadale District). 

The winner of the team category is the Regional Investigations Unit, Criminal Gangs & Regional Investigations. 

The Regional Investigations Unit officers have been recognised for their dedication to frontline policing in the identification, location and association of some of the state’s most high harm and active offenders. They ensure community safety, whilst obtaining evidence and demonstrating empathy, understanding and care to victims.

Finalists in the team category were Merredin Police Station (Wheatbelt District) and Perth Police Station (Perth District).

Hon Paul Papalia CSC MLA, Minister for Police; Road Safety; Defence Industry; Veterans Issues said “the Western Australia Police Force is regarded as one of the best in the world. It’s no coincidence that our officers are working alongside international law enforcement agencies like the FBI and the DEA. The Western Australia Police Force is world class.

“Wearing a uniform in service can be exceptionally demanding. It can be exceptionally rewarding. But most of all, it can only be done by exceptional people. My thanks to you all, and my congratulations to this year’s winners.”

The awards are judged by a panel according to criteria including excellence in a policing role, the core WA Police Force values of duty, teamwork, integrity and care, as well as the extent to which nominations raise the public’s confidence in policing.

The winner of the individual award receives a $5,000 prize and the two finalists each receive a $1,000 prize courtesy of sponsor P&N Bank.

The winning team receives a $5,000 prize and the two finalists each receive a $1,000 prize courtesy of sponsor Nine Perth, to be spent on team development.

The awards are sponsored by Nine Perth, 6PR and WAtoday, P&N Bank and Optus Stadium.

The WA Police Force would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate an individual police officer or a police team this year.