2018 Winners

Channel Nine Perth and the Western Australia Police Force are excited to announce the winners of the 2018 Nine News WA Police Excellence Awards, who were presented with their certificates and prizes at a special breakfast event at Crown Perth.

The winner of the individual category was Senior Sergeant Darryl Brandis, from Mundijong Police Station who was recognised for his 30 years of dedication to his duty as a police officer, exemplified in his commitment to the Mundijong community and the way he frequently engages with local stakeholders to achieve positive outcomes.

The winners of the team category were the Mental Health Co-Response Team, from the Custodial Services and Mental Health Division, acknowledged for assisting vulnerable people in the community who are suffering from mental health issues.

Finalists in the individual category were:

  • Senior Constable Ben Ferris – Merredin Police Station, Wheatbelt District
  • First Class Constable Nathan Smith – Broome Police Station, Kimberley District

Get to know the individual category finalists and winner:

Finalists in the team category were:

  • Kellerberrin Police Station – Wheatbelt District
  • Mullewa Police Station – Mid West-Gascoyne District

Get to know the team category finalists and winner:

The awards recognise the hard work all police officers contribute to our community. The officers nominated highlight that police work is both varied and challenging and greatly affects people from all walks of life. Policing is not only a job; it is a way of life.

Who judges the awards?

The judging panel includes representatives from our sponsors, Nine Perth, Crown Perth, P&N Bank and 882 6PR, and senior police executive, who will validate the claims and provide advice to the panel on the officers’ suitability for the awards.

The WA Police Force thanks this year’s sponsors Nine Perth, Crown Perth, P&N Bank and 882 6PR.