2019 Winners

The Western Australia Police Force and Channel Nine Perth are excited to announce the winners of the 2019 Nine News WA Police Excellence Awards, who were celebrated and presented with their prizes at a special breakfast event at Crown Perth. 

The winner of the individual category was Sergeant Shelley Marklew from South Hedland Police Station. The award recognises her dedication to increasing school attendance and reducing family violence in South Hedland by introducing new initiatives that have been embraced by the local community. 

The winner of the team category was Derby Police Station, Kimberley District. The officers in this team have been praised by local residents for their community spirit and commitment to keeping the town safe in challenging circumstances. They have increased public confidence and are committed to making Derby a better place.

Finalists in the individual category were:

  • Senior Constable Deslea Sloan – Major Crash Investigation, State Traffic
  • Senior Sergeant Justin Tarasinski – Laverton Police Station, Goldfields-Esperance District

Get to know our individual category winner and finalists:


Finalists in the team category were:

  • Midland Family Violence Team – Midland District
  • Taskforce Newstead – Organised Crime

Get to know our team category winner and finalists:


Who judges the awards?

The judging panel includes representatives from our sponsors, Nine Perth, Crown Perth, P&N Bank, 6PR and senior police, who will validate the claims and provide advice to the panel on the officers’ suitability for the awards.

The WA Police Force thanks this year’s sponsors Nine Perth, Crown Perth, P&N Bank and 6PR.